top of page

Giving 100% by Exemplifying: Excellence, Loyalty, Kindness, and Skill

G.O. E.L.K.S.

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
So immensely proud of this group!! Middl
N Wilkes competition-trophies.jpg

Our Mission

To promote and develop excellence in music arts and education in our community by providing positive moral and financial support and assistance for the music program and participants.  Express the significance of music in participant’s cultural, intellectual and social lives as well as development physically and mentally, with the disciplines learned serving our students throughout their lives, while experiencing personal growth.  This will be accomplished by enabling communication and cooperation with teachers, students, parents, school administration, the board of education and the larger community; encouraging students to strive for excellence and build relationships; fundraising to provide the students with the equipment, materials, instruments and knowledge to become successful.                   


Jan 2020 Honors Band EHS

Alexa Gutierrez-Flute

Gracie Gambill- Flute

J'Lynn Poplin- Clarinet

Breanna Laws- Clarinet

Summer Bryant-Bass Clarinet

Maddox Bovender-Alto Sax

Noah Stuart- Alto Sax

Beau Callahan- Trumpet

Amani Tilley-Trombone

Kade Cockerham-Tuba

Bailey Spicer-General Percussion

Adam Spicer- General Percussion

2020 All-district

Paul Brinegar - Oboe

Kade Cockerham - Tuba

Jan 2020 Honors Band EMS

Karah Taylor- Flute

Abby Thomas- Flute

Calista Harris- 1st Chair Flute

Milena Waddell- Flute

Aiden Bartley- Flute

HollyAnne Caudle- Clarinet

Lila Gibson- Clarinet

Lenin Ortiz-Clarinet

Liam King- Clarinet

Kayla Ledbetter- Clarinet

Joshua Couch- 1st Chair Alto Sax

Djimon Brown-Alto Sax

Patrick Jones- 1st Chair Tenor Sax

Gabby LaCashio

Nolan Stainback- Trumpet

Lily Sartain- Trumpet

Reagan Whitley- Trumpet

Brady Vestal- Trumpet

Ethan Brown- Trumpet

Zachary Stuart- 1st Chair French Horn

Granger Teachey- 1st Chair Trombone

Laura Shore- Trombone

Anna Hall- Trombone

Molly Meyerhoffer= 1st Chair

Brady Reed- 1st Chair General Percussion

Braden Oliver- 1st Chair Timpani

Screen Shot 2019-03-07 at 11.57.56

Eliza Shepherd

Director of Bands

Elkin City Schools


Ms. Shepherd attended the University of North Carolina at Pembroke, where she received a bachelors degree in music education studying oboe and minor french horn. She served as the drum major for the Spirit of the Carolina's Marching band as well as the Pep Band Conductor for two years. She was awarded the Outstanding Senior Award in 2013 for her service to the music department. 


Ms. Shepherd has taught leadership and conducting for Fred J Miller Summer Clinics and Yamaha Sounds of Summer. She has worked for many schools including: Rockingham County High School, Myrtle Beach High School, Grays Creek High School, Mac Williams Middle School, Cape Fear High School, and Cardinal Gibbons High School. 

Ms. Shepherd holds professional memberships with Sigma Alpha Iota, the National Association for Music Education, and the North Carolina Music Educator’s Association. Outside of school Ms. Shepherd enjoys hiking, camping, live performances, and playing with the local community band.

"Every time you take up the instrument, you are
making a statement, your statement, and it must be a
statement of belief that this is the way you want to speak." - Isaac Stern


Directors Corner
bottom of page